10 top new albums coming in May 2018

Albums May 2018

Wondering what albums are out in May? Here's the 10 biggest releases you need to know about this month!

May is set to be a huge month in music, with some incredible albums being released!

Arctic Monkeys return with their sixth studio album, Charlie Puth releases his much anticipated Voicenotes and Shawn Mendes has a new project to share with the world too. 

Here's our round-up of the 10 biggest albums coming this month...

Plan B - Heaven Before All Hell Breaks Loose

Release date: 4 May 2018

Plan B is set to release his third studio album this month, his first since 2010's hugely-successful The Defamation of Strickland Banks. The album will feature singles 'Heartbeat' and 'Grateful'.

Frank Turner - Be More Kind

Release date: 4 May 2018

Be More Kind is Frank Turner's seventh studio album, featuring the singles '1933', 'Blackout', 'Make America Great Again' and title track 'Be More Kind'. The title is based on a line from a poem titled Leçons Des Ténèbres by Clive James.

Peace - Kindness Is The New Rock And Roll

Release date: 4 May 2018

Peace have a new album out, the follow-up to Happy People, featuring the singles 'Power', 'From Under Liquid Glass' and 'You Don't Walk Away From Love'. The Birmingham band are also on tour around the UK in May, starting with a headline slot at Live at Leeds.

Arctic Monkeys - Tranquility Base Hotel & Casino

Release date: 11 May 2018

Arctic Monkeys are back with their long-anticipated new album Tranquility Base Hotel & Casino. Rumoured to be a concept album, the Sheffield band have taken the unusual step of not dropping any singles ahead of the album's release. 

Charlie Puth - Voicenotes

Release date: 11 May 2018

Voicenotes is Charlie Puth's second studio album and will include the hit singles 'Attention', 'How Long' and 'Done for Me'. The album has been produced entirely by Charlie himself and is so is expected to be quite a personal project.

James Bay - Electric Light

Release date: 18 May 2018

James Bay is releasing his second studio album Electric Light in May, the follow-up to his critically-acclaimed debut Chaos and the Calm. The music video for lead single 'Wild Love' starred Stranger Things actress Natalia Dyer (Nancy).

Chvrches - Love Is Dead

Release date: 25 May 2018

Chvrches are set to release their third studio album Love Is Dead, which will include the singles 'Get Out', 'My Enemy', 'Never Say Die' and 'Miracle'. The Scottish band started working on the release in Los Angeles back in February 2017.

Snow Patrol - Wildness

Release date: 25 May 2018

Snow Patrol are releasing their seventh studio album at the end of the month, titled Wildness. The Northern Irish-Scottish band have so far released singles 'Don't Give In' and 'Life on Earth' from the EP.

J Balvin - Vibras

Release date: 25 May 2018

You'll know J Balvin from his 2017 hit single 'Mi Gente' and his recent collaboration with Liam Payne on 'Familiar'. The Columbian singer releases his latest album at the end of the month, titled Vibras.

Shawn Mendes - Shawn Mendes

Release date: 25 May 2018

Shawn Mendes has announced his self-titled, third studio album will be released on 25 May. The album cover was designed by Brazilian artist Marcelo Monreal and the release is set to include the single 'In My Blood' and 'Youth' featuring Khalid.

For more of the biggest hits, listen to The Official Vodafone Big Top 40 this Sunday from 4pm.

Listen to The Official Vodafone Big Top 40 playlist on Apple Music.